People

Chicano/Latino Studies Program Faculty

Name and Title Office Phone Number

E-Mail Address

 alfarez-headshot Gabriela Alfaraz

Associate Professor of Spanish

B350 Wells Hall 517-884-6343

alfarazg@msu.edu

  Isabel Ayala

Assistant Professor of Sociology

414B Berkey 517-353-6614

ayalam@msu.edu

  Kristine Byron

Associate Professor of Spanish

B353 Wells Hall 517-884-6325

byronk@msu.edu

 cabanas-headshot Miguel Cabañas

Associate Professor of Spanish

B457 Wells Hall 517-884-6346

mcabanas@msu.edu

 chavez-headshot Manuel Chavez

Associate Professor of Journalism

346 Communication Arts 517-432-1411

chavezm1@msu.edu

 cal_website_newappointments_sheila Sheila Contreras

Associate Professor of English and Associate Dean Undergraduate Studies, Diversity & Inclusion, College of Arts & Letters

308b Linton Hall 517-432-7236

sheilac@msu.edu

  Sandra Crespo

Professor of Teacher Education

362 Erickson Hall 517-353-3035

crespo@msu.edu

 dodson-headshot Jualynne Dodson

Professor of Sociology

300 Berkey Hall 517-432-8668

dodsonj2@msu.edu

 dominguez-headshot Higinio Dominguez

Assistant Professor of Teacher Education

116K Erickson 517-355-2321

higinio@msu.edu

 delia-headshot Delia Fernandez

Assistant Professor of History

314 Old Horticulture 517-884-4943

dmf@msu.edu

 yomaira-headshot Yomaira Figueroa

Associate Professor of English

C615 Wells Hall 517-884-4413

yomairaf@msu.edu

 erin-graham-headshot Erin Graham

Assistant Professor of History

256 Old Horticulture 517-355-7500

egraham@msu.edu

 guzman-headshot Joseph Guzman

Assistant Professor of Human Resources and Labor Relations

403 S. Kedzie Hall jguzman@msu.edu
 hidalgo-headshot Alexandra Hidalgo

Assistant Professor of Writing, Rhetoric, and Composition

265 Bessey Hall 517-884-4503

Hidalgo5@msu.edu

 lindahunt_anthrowp Linda Hunt

Professor of Anthropology

338 Baker Hall 517-355-0114

huntli@msu.edu

  Eric Gonzalez Juenke

Associate Professor of Political Science

Director of Chicano/Latino Studies

200 S. Kedzie 517-355-8888

juenke@msu.edu

 marin-headshot Patricia Marin

Assistant Professor of Higher Education Administration

429 Erickson Hall 517-432-9616

pmarin@msu.edu

  Javier Pescador

Professor of History

333 Old Horticulture 517-884-4947

pescador@msu.edu

 diana-rivera-headshot Diana Rivera

Librarian

Main Library Db16 517-884-0848

dianar@msu.edu

 2012 College of Music Faculty Portraits Diego Rivera

Associate Professor of Jazz Studies

302 Music Practice Bldg. 517-432-4480

riveradi@msu.edu

 rosenbaum_web_final_081816-1 René Rosenbaum

Associate Professor of Community Sustainability

312A Natural Resources 517-432-3383

rosenba5@msu.edu

saldivar Sam Saldívar, III
Assistant Professor of Chicano/Latino Studies and Undergraduate Coordinator
200 S. Kedzie Hall 517-353-8685

Saldiv11@msu.edu

 shahjahan-riyad Riyad Shahjahan

Assistant Professor of Educational Administration

428 Erickson Hall Shahja95@msu.edu
John Valadez

Associate Professor of Practice, Filmmaking

279 Communication Arts & Sciences Building 516-810-7238

valadez3@msu.edu

 

Chicano/Latino Studies Program Affiliated Faculty

 gold-headshot Steve Gold

Professor of Sociology

462 Berkey Hall 517-353-6352

gold@msu.edu

  horner Pilar Horner

Assistant Professor of Social Work

120 Baker Hall 517-353-0775

phorner@msu.edu

  Laura Julier

Associate Professor of Writing, Rhetoric and American Culture

235 Bessey Hall 517-35-2400

julier@msu.edu

 mendez Danny Mendez

Associate Professor of Romance and Classical Studies

B331 Wells Hall 517-884-6351

mendezda@msu.edu

 michaelsen-headshot Scott Michaelsen

Professor of English

C701 Wells Hall 517-884-4453

smichael@msu.edu

  Dylan Miner

Associate Professor, Residential College for Arts and Humanities

C230j Snyder Hall 517-884-1323

dminer@msu.edu

 paris-django-2013 Django Paris

Associate Professor of Teacher Education

329 Erickson Hall 517-884-6639

dparis@msu.edu

 torrez_photo Estrella Torrez

Associate Professor, Residential College in the Arts and Humanities

C230i Snyder Hall 517-884-1327

torrezjs@msu.edu

Maribel Santiago

Assistant Professor, Department of Teacher Education

329 Erickson Hall 517-353-5091

maribel@msu.edu

 velez_ortiz Daniel Vélez Ortiz

Associate Professor of Social Work

118 Baker Hall velezda@msu.edu

 

Chicano/Latino Studies Program Staff

mccue-headshot Michael McCue

Administrative Assistant II

200 S. Kedzie Hall 517-353-8685

mccuemi@msu.edu

 

Chicano/Latino Studies Program Advisory Committee 2017-18

Isabel Ayala, Delia Fernandez, Director Eric Gonzalez Juenke, John Valadez, Sandra Crespo, Erin Graham

CLS Graduate Committee

Eric Gonzalez Juenke, Miguel Cabañas, Linda Hunt

Chicano/Latino Studies Program By-Laws
A copy of the by-laws of the Chicano/Latino Studies Program can be downloaded by clicking here.

Current Graduate Students

Erin Alvarez
BA English Literature, California State University-Fresno
MFA Creative Writing, California State University-Fresno
Research Interests: Selenidad, Chicana Feminist Epistemology, and cultural memory

Dianey Leal

Jose Martinez
BA Political Science, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
MA Mexican-American Studies, San Jose State University
Research Interest: The higher education of migrant farm working children

Christian Ramirez

BA Sociology, University of Texas-Pan American
MA Sociology, University of Texas-Pan American

Dissertation title: Caminando Juntos in Search of Liberation: Indigenous and African Peoples Response to Colonialism in 17th century Veracruz, Mexico

 Angelica Ruvalcaba